Saturday, December 3, 2011
8:00 pm
New England Conservatory痴 Jordan Hall
Buy tickets online

Edward Jones, conductor
Bella Hristova, violin
Guest conductor Edward Jones joins the Longwood Symphony Orchestra to explore three Romantic German works. The program begins with the overture to Weber痴 whimsical opera, Oberon. Violin virtuoso Bella Hristova performs Mendelssohn痴 celebrated Violin Concerto. Written upon his return from a trip to Germany痴 Rhineland, Schumann痴 迭henish� Symphony — in a version edited by Gustav Mahler — depicts the beauty of the lands surrounding the Rhine River. Read the program notes to learn more.

Weber Overture to Oberon
Mendelssohn Violin Concerto in E Minor, op. 64
Schumann (orch. G. Mahler)
Symphony No. 3 in E-flat Major, op. 97 “Rhenish”

Benefiting the Sharewood Project

Subscriptions and individual concert tickets are now available. Buy tickets online here.